God as Artist

Contributed by Abner Campos

This week’s Sabbath Study Guide was beautiful! If you haven’t read it, or don’t want to read it, you should read it. The title is God As Artist. 

Sunday: God as a Potter.

Monday: God as an Architect.

Tuesday: God as a Musician.

Wednesday: God as an Author.

Thursday: God as a Sculptor.

I wasn’t able to grasp every day as much as I wish, but some of the days blew me away. By the way, I like art. I like it a lot. I wish I was in an environment that encouraged me to appreciate it more, but whenever art is around me I enjoy it. Art class has helped me live a little. Experiencing art has helped me understand how God works. Reading and observing philosophy and logic hasn’t done much for my understanding of how God does big little things in life.

But art makes more sense, I think.

I was made in God’s image. You were made beautifully in God’s image. God instilled some of His attribu
tes in us when He created Adam out of dust and blew that breath of life in him. I learned that when I paint on empty space its really easy to do whatever I want, however I want. But what if that canvass or black, empty chair could speak against me and resist my will? It would be difficult.
Now, how difficult is it for God to paint His masterpiece on the canvas of our hearts? God gave us a will to choose to either allow Him to paint His will in our lives or to resist the painting of His masterpiece in our hearts. I want the Artists of Artists to make His will manifest in my life. But I need to let Him take care of that.
I leave you with a song by Lisa Gungor who undertands this concept well:
“I am a canvas I’m stretched on a frame
I wait for the painter to come paint His character on meLeft to myself there is nothing to see
Wait for the painter to come paint His portrait on me
On meI’m just a carrier for the painter’s picture
Hoping He’ll cover me till there’s nothing left to see
but His characterI am a canvas
My purpose is clear
To let the great artist display His masterpiece here”

 Follow, comment, share, like. 🙂

One thought on “God as Artist

  1. […] to build off the theme from Abner Campos’ piece  earlier this week.  Here’s a poem I wrote, the kind that may make its way onto a track or performance one […]

Leave a comment